top of page

Go to ABOUT page to

check out my 20% project

Search
  • minyeongkim

Third Reflection 2019

Updated: May 10, 2019

Hello, welcome to my blog, viewers!

Today I came back with a better result than the last time's failure. Last week, as I've already mentioned, I couldn't do anything due to my insufficient preparation. Regretting and reflecting myself, I decided to actually work on what I planned last week.


First, I talked to my mentee, Minji, about her needs. She brought several homework and test corrections. Thankfully, she didn't bring what we had to urgently finish. I was glad that she actually listened to my advice that it's better to at least be aware of her assignments ahead in time.


Since the assignments she had this time had to be done physically, we went down the school hill and found a quiet cafe that seemed comfortable for us to study. I expected that she wouldn't pay attention and chat for the whole time, but she participated very well.


We started with the Chemistry test corrections. It's inappropriate to reveal her score here, but the score showed that she didn't study for that test.... Worried about her grades, I told her to let me know next time if she has a problem preparing for tests.


Anyways, since I knew that it is meaningless to just tell her the answers, I explained her the whole chapter from the beginning before I touched any problems on the test paper. It took a lot of time and effort to explain her everything from the beginning. As she seemed to be following, I felt proud. I actually didn't have to teach her everything on this chapter, but I thought it would be better if I did so because I knew that she'd struggle again on the next chapter. Then, I made her do the test corrections by herself, and she got almost every problems correct; I felt so proud after all.


Later, we worked on the World history researching worksheets, an English worksheet, and some more. I personally think that it was successful this week in terms of following the plans for this mentoring project. However, I won't satisfy at this moment and try to support her much better on next week.


Thank you for reading my blogs and please leave some comments!


*I forgot to take some pictures of us doing the work, so here's a picture of a waffle that we had during the meeting.


3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page