top of page

Go to ABOUT page to

check out my 20% project

Search
  • minyeongkim

Fourth Reflection 2019

Updated: May 10, 2019

Hello readers, welcome back to my reflection blog post!

It’s already been a month since we started our 20% time projects.

How are you guys all doing with your projects? Well, for me, I think I’m doing alright so far. Still, I honestly think that I could've done better. I got to this conclusion because I thought about the role of a mentor once again. Mentor‘s not a person who just teaches the mentee about certain skills or knowledge, but someone who has to give the mentee the motivation to work harder and improve on what they‘re doing, and reasonably explain the reason why they have to do that. Also, mentor should be a good listener for its mentee.


So, here‘s what Minji and I did on this Monday,

- Chemistry worksheets

- Reading English articles

- Talk about the Christianity

- Share concerns and advice


As I think it’s little bit redundant to explain about how we did on the school-related assignments again, I’ll skip that for this time. Instead, I would like to talk about what we shared on that day; now I believe that those kind of 'talk' is necessary for the mentor-mentee relationship. First, we happened to talk about the Christianity. Even though I’m quite close with Minji, I didn't know that she is a sincere believer; apparently she is. As a non-Christian, I asked her to tell me about the Christianity. She explained me in a very logical sense that I found myself agreeing with everything she said. Then we decided to talk about this again, later.


We also talked about our concerns such as studying, relationships with people, and etc. I think it was a very valuable time since I felt like I couldn’t help anybody with my feelings these days because I was keep having bad days. After emptying my concerns to someone else, I felt much better.


My conclusion for today’s reflection is that I learned mentor-mentee isn’t a one-way sharing, but it works in both ways. I hope the next meeting could be more fruitful. Please expect a better reflection. See you next time!


- This is a picture of us studying : )



5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page