top of page

Go to ABOUT page to

check out my 20% project

Search
  • minyeongkim

First Reflection 2019

Updated: May 10, 2019

Hello, my blog readers!!

The very first week of the 20% Time Project has past, and I would like to tell you guys about the process of the project, how it's going. It was pretty successful.


This week was the week of preparation and planning since it was the first week and we had to set up many things. First, we had to decide when to do the work. After adjusting each others’ schedules, my mentee Minji and I decided to meet up at least 2 times in school; if extra time is needed, we will flexibly choose to either study at the cafe or talk through Skype at home.


Although it was the first week of our project, she already needed help on her English assignment. She had to write an essay(or script) for speech meet presentation. I felt responsible for helping her, so I agreed that if she send me her rough drafts by 11 pm, I would revise and edit until 1 am. However, unfortunately, due to her personal problems, including sickness, she couldn’t manage to keep the promise and sent me the draft almost at 1 am. I was quite disappointed, because I had to be awake until late for her.


Well, I also understand her situation as well. Apparently, the essay was only the rough draft version, so it was okay to send it without completion or with some errors. I warned her to be aware of every little details that are given by teachers so that she can efficiently plan out her works.


Her essay seemed to need a lot of revising and editing from the beginning. The major problems were grammar, composition, and contents. Luckily, she asked me for a help in explaining the fundamental strategies of writing essays. I knew that I’m not the best writer or even a decent writer, but I could explain those skills in basic level, and I was glad that I could help her.


We decided to meet after school on next Thursday so that I can tutor her about some basic writing skills. Although there were not much tutoring done this week, but since we’ve planned to do the tutoring in earnest starting next week, I believe the process isn’t too bad so far.


* Thank you for reading and I hope you have wonderful 설날 break!!

- English short essay

- Speech Meet script rough draft



5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page